Our Encounter with Mary,Mother of God

Standard

Both Tom and I are cradle Catholics. Both of our families were faithful and obedient to the Church. My father chose the U.S. Army as a career and so the family moved often and lived in various states and countries. While it was a good experience and educational; my brothers and I hadn’t the chance to attend Catholic Schools. However, my parents always made sure we were attending Catechism classes and involved in the Church. Tom was raised in a small town in Iowa and attended Catholic Schools through the 12th grade. We share this part of our life to give you a background on how both of our families were indeed committed to living the faith.

Mary Jane’s Story
I am the firstborn of three. My parents married when my mother was 18 after a lengthy courtship with my father. I was born in their first year of marriage. Well almost….my mother became quite ill during the pregnancy and almost lost the baby – me. She and her mother have a devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary under the title of Our Lady of San Juan (Our Lady of St. John). In discovering that she may loose the baby; she and my grandmother made a “promise” a “promesa” (in Spanish) asking our Lady of San Juan’s intercession and consecrated the baby to her. Well, behold I was born! In my adult life, I became more attracted to Mary. One of my favorite prayers to Mary is called the Hail Mary.

Eventually, Tom and I were attracted to a religious community founded in France in 1975 called the Congregation of St. John consisting of priests, brothers and sisters. We became Oblates of St. John (similar to a Third Order ). I don’t think it is coincidental that I become a member of this community. After all, they are named after their Spiritual Father – St. John the Evangelist.

Tom’s Story
When my mother was pregnant with me, she had Uremic poisoning and received the Last Rites, however, I was born premature on Mother’s Day, May 13th, Feast of Our Lady of Fatima and then all was well with my mother. In my adult life I discovered the power of Mary’s intercession. My favorite prayer is the Memorare. By the way, Mary Jane and I discovered Mother Teresa’s ‘express novena’ – praying nine Memorare’s. At times we choose to pray this “express novena”, trusting in our Lady’s prayers, in the prayers of our Mother, the Mother of God.

What do you think?

