Love on Valentine’s Day only?

Standard

As I was looking over the Sunday paper, I saw so many advertisements for jewelry, perfumes, chocolates and flowers. I was telling my husband, “Honey, don’t feel you have to buy me anything for Valentine’s Day. Please don’t waste your money on flowers or jewelry or chocolates.”

As I continued to read the paper, I noticed that many restaurants were having Valentine’s Day dinner specials, too. So, then I said, “Let’s go have dinner on Valentine’s Day instead! There’s a restaurant that is offering dinner for two; which includes an appetizer, main course and dessert for only 19.99? That’s a good deal.”

Then, my husband says, “Let’s just have dinner at home.”

I thought for a moment. What am I doing? I’m sending mixed messages. First, I said, ‘Don’t waste your money on me,’ then I say, ‘Let’s buy dinner at a restaurant just because it’s Valentine’s Day?’ Why does my husband have to show me one day out of the year that he loves me? For that matter, why does anyone have to use Valentine’s Day to demonstrate their love for someone?

I began to think: God loves us every day, 24/7. He doesn’t decide on one special day to show His love for us; He shows it every day. Aren’t we supposed to do the same?

So then, I started to look in the Bible to read His Word about love. I’m very familiar with 1 Corinthians 13 (“Love is patient, Love is kind…”) since it’s often read at weddings. But then, I found a scripture in 1 John 4:7-11;

Beloved, let us love one another, because love is of God; everyone who loves is begotten by God and knows God. Whoever is without love does not know God, for God is love. In this way the love of God was revealed to us: God sent his only son into the world so that we might have life through him. In this is love; not that we have loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as expiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also must love one another.

With this scripture, I challenged myself to love – not only my husband, or my mother, my sister, my friend, my neighbor – but also my enemy. I’m not just doing this because I feel like it. I’m doing this because God told me to. Shouldn’t you do the same?

What do you think?

