Women: Be the Light!

Standard

In this very challenging time in which we live, where our faith is being put to the ultimate test, God wants us to remember that He sent His Son into the world to be Our Light and to remove the darkness forever. He also told us:

You are the light of the world. A city set on a mountain cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and then put it under a bushel basket; it is set on a lampstand, where it gives light to all in the house. Just so, your light must shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your heavenly Father. (Matthew 5:14-16)

Jesus wants each and every one of us to be the light for HIM first but also be that example for others. If we all could take up our crosses and learn to be the light for others, we could set this world on fire!  We need to come together and support each other now more than ever.

Women especially have challenges with this task since many of us are chatty, gossipy, jealous, and insecure by nature.  Many women I know would rather go with the flow than choose to go against it.  I am very blessed to know a handful of strong, virtuous, holy women who choose to be the light for me and for many others.  It is not easy to be the light in the midst of this very turbulent time. Yet, the time is upon us to not only hear this message but live it.

I know as a wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend there are many times I still feel dark moments.  There are struggles and challenges that are placed before me that seem unbearable.  As I march through these challenging times, I believe the Lord wants all of us women to be the light for one another.  I have felt recently the Lord shows me that when I am having those dark moments to look to the light (strong, virtuous, holy women) He has placed in my life to help light my way out of the darkness.

If we as women would be the light for one another by comforting and supporting each other, we could be unstoppable.

Written by Elizabeth Boyle-Contreras (Catholic Women’s Conference Steering Committee member)

What do you think?

