Why don’t we just give it ALL to God?

Standard

“Out of the depths I have cried to You, O LORD; Lord, hear my voice! Let your ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications.” Ps. 130:1,2

When the bottom has fallen out of our life and we stand helpless to fix it or face it, then in our suffering and pain we instinctively cry out to God. It is in the depths, when we can no longer manage life on our own, that we rediscover that we were never meant to manage life on our own.  We are, by design, dependent on God. And it is in the depths that our need for God is most passionately felt and expressed.

Prior to my conversion experience in the fall of 2010 that lead me full throttle on the road to becoming Catholic, I was in a period of darkness.  Everything that had defined my life up to that moment came to a screeching halt.  Having neither the strength nor clarity to move forward, I became completely dependent on God.  Day by day, I learned what it means to turn it all over to God.  And the results were astonishing.  Never in my wildest imagination, could I have dreamed that within two years I would be moving from Houston to San Antonio, taking RCIA classes to become Catholic and working for a Catholic evangelization ministry.  I now have everything I didn’t even know I was looking for.

Unfortunately, it is often only at our weakest moments that we truly let go and let God.  Rather than dividing our life into: (1) That which we think we can handle by ourselves and (2) That which God can handle – why don’t we just give it ALL to God?  What ARE we waiting for? Life is full of choices, but none as fundamental as the choice to put God first and at the center of our lives!

About Pamela Mandeville

Pam is the Administrative Assistant at Pilgrim Center of Hope. She moved from Houston with the specific intention of becoming Catholic and getting involved in the Catholic community of San Antonio. Pam says, "Serving in this ministry of evangelization is a dream come true." The Pilgrim Log is the blog of the Pilgrim Center of Hope, a Catholic evangelization ministry, providing weekly spiritual reflections to help you journey toward a deeper relationship with Christ. Learn more about the Pilgrim Center of Hope by visiting www.pilgrimcenterofhope.org.

What do you think?

