My Reflection on Becoming Catholic

Standard
"On the Banks of the Tiber" by Camille Corot (1826)

“On the Banks of the Tiber” by Camille Corot (1826)

One year ago, I lived in Houston…was discerning in which direction to take my life…and still a Protestant. Today, I live in San Antonio…work for a Catholic evangelization ministry…and am now a confirmed Catholic. What happened? I fully believe God has a plan for our lives. Although we may not know what it is – He does – and that is what matters.

On an unsuspecting afternoon, in a restaurant, I met a Man of God from the Roman Catholic Church. The Holy Spirit hit me with a “2 x 4”, wave upon wave of revelation breaking over my stunned mind, and I knew within minutes that my life was about to go in a dramatically different direction. After this conversion experience, I could not get Catholicism out of my system – or the question, “Is this God’s will for me to become a Catholic?” out of my mind. Powerful forces were calling me to follow.

On September 10, 2012, I began working for Pilgrim Center of Hope. Following the example, and under the guidance and teaching of Deacon Tom and Mary Jane Fox, and my co-workers, Angela Sealana and Daniel Quintero, the seeds that had been planted a couple years prior were watered and found roots. Here at Pilgrim Center of Hope I have found peace, devotion to God, and service to community.

Then, on September 12, 2012, I began RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults), taking my first steps in the direction of becoming Catholic; my mind still not comprehending how I had gotten there – my heart knowing I was exactly where I was supposed to be. With each RCIA meeting every week for six months, my journey with Christ deepened and took on greater meaning. And what I learned about the Catholic faith only strengthened my conviction that I was on the right path.

At the Easter Vigil, on the most majestic and holy of nights, and the high point of my life, I became one in the Body of Christ and came “home” to Holy Mother Church. I can honestly say that I have found everything I didn’t know that I was looking for.

About Pamela Mandeville

Pam is the Administrative Assistant at Pilgrim Center of Hope. She moved from Houston with the specific intention of becoming Catholic and getting involved in the Catholic community of San Antonio. Pam says, "Serving in this ministry of evangelization is a dream come true." The Pilgrim Log is the blog of the Pilgrim Center of Hope, a Catholic evangelization ministry, providing weekly spiritual reflections to help you journey toward a deeper relationship with Christ. Learn more about the Pilgrim Center of Hope by visiting www.pilgrimcenterofhope.org.

One response »

  1. love it !! I know what you mean I was a cradle catholic however never really knew what a treasure I had in the church so I became a born again Christian having a personal relationship with God . Four 28 years I left the church however funny as it was I always found myself in adoration whenever I really wanted to feel closer to God. This last year I made my way back to the church .The only thing I
    miss form the non catholic churches is the women’s ministries I learn so much form them and I believe Know is the time for women fellowship in all catholic churches women need women to identify with share and to know they are not alone.
    Loved your story and God does call his people home welcome home!

What do you think?

