Far to Go: Growing in My Faith as a Convert

Standard

Dirt Road with Maple Trees in Winter Sunrise

“But GROW in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Him be the glory both now and forever. Amen.” 2 Peter 3:18

THE STARTING POINT FOR GROWING in the knowledge of our Lord is the understanding that we still have very far to go.

No matter how many times we attend Mass, how well we know the Bible, how many degrees we have obtained, how many “Hail Mary”s we recite, how holy we think have become…really? Spiritual growth is an ever-evolving process. Do we ever fully know Jesus?

As a new convert to Catholicism, it is easy to slip into self-judgment about how much I have to learn; feeling like I need to run to catch up with those who have been in Holy Mother Church all their lives.

It is at times like this that I feel God’s presence whispering that I am loved exactly where I am; and, despite my many faults, exactly as I am. And so I relax, opening my heart and mind to allow God’s grace to grow me, in His own time and in His own way. But each day it is my responsibility to set my eyes on our Lord who will make straight my path through the Holy Cross.

Heavenly Father, let me not become like the Pharisees, so smug and certain in their knowledge, that they did not recognize the Savior standing before them. Help me to begin each day in the understanding that I know nothing and that by myself I can do nothing.

About Pamela Mandeville

Pam is the Administrative Assistant at Pilgrim Center of Hope. She moved from Houston with the specific intention of becoming Catholic and getting involved in the Catholic community of San Antonio. Pam says, "Serving in this ministry of evangelization is a dream come true." The Pilgrim Log is the blog of the Pilgrim Center of Hope, a Catholic evangelization ministry, providing weekly spiritual reflections to help you journey toward a deeper relationship with Christ. Learn more about the Pilgrim Center of Hope by visiting www.pilgrimcenterofhope.org.

What do you think?

