He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not

Standard

Daisy

Funny how one can remember rhymes simply because they “rhyme”! Remember this one – He loves me, he loves not, he loves me, he loves me not….?  The person saying this phrase would pick one petal off a flower (usually a daisy). Once the petals on the flower are all gone, the person holding the stem would think of the last words of that petal – Oh he loves me! or, Oh he loves me not!

The month of February is known for St. Valentine’s Day and American Heart Month. As I was thinking about the meaning of St. Valentine’s Day and connecting it with the Heart Health awareness, I thought – “My heart beats because of God!…I am alive because my heart beats!” The reality is that I came into this world through a procreation act of God and my loving parents.

I remember playing the flower game, He loves me, He loves me not with friends as a child. Even at a young age, we knew that even if the words on that last petal was he loves me not, we continued to be attracted to the person we admired. It didn’t matter; the flower game was a game to express our silliness with friends. It didn’t change the way we felt about the one we admired, and we still wrote that Valentine card!

St. Paul writes about true love in 1 Corinthians 13:1-13.

When I was a child, I used to talk as a child, think as a child, reason as a child; when I became a man, I put aside childish things. At present we see indistinctly, as in a mirror… (verses 11 – 12)

Perhaps over the years, we lose our childlike trust in others and in God; we only think of God as a distant Being, not concerned with what happens in our life.

My husband Deacon Tom and I used to work full-time in a Home Visitation ministry for our parish, St. Matthew in San Antonio. Can you imagine a young Catholic couple spending forty hours per week going door-to-door in the parish? We met many people as we knocked on their doors who told us that they were never home during the day, except that they had to stop by their home to pick up something for their work. Some may call this “coincidental” – we, however, were convinced it was God’s hand touching hearts through our simple visit. Those years of door-to-door visits showed us God’s love and mercy! When the resident of the home would express their surprise at our visit, or would express how odd that someone from the Catholic Church was visiting them, we emphasized the love of God for them and the Church’s interest in them.

As we think about healthy hearts and writing sweet notes this month to our loved ones; let us not forget to thank the Creator of all, our Heavenly Father, for the gift of life. Place your hand over your heart, feel your heart beat. It beats – He loves me! He loves me!

Learn more: The Pilgrim Center of Hope offers Home Visitation workshops to parishes interested in reaching out into the neighborhoods.

About Mary Jane Fox

Mary Jane Fox is the co-founder of The Pilgrim Center of Hope. The Pilgrim Log is the blog of the Pilgrim Center of Hope, a Catholic evangelization ministry, providing weekly spiritual reflections to help you journey toward a deeper relationship with Christ. Learn more about the Pilgrim Center of Hope by visiting www.pilgrimcenterofhope.org.

What do you think?

