Can’t Stop Laughing

Standard

As I was reading through the liturgy for Pentecost, I reflected how the Holy Spirit has influenced my life. One of the earliest memories I have of the Holy Spirit happened when I was in high school. I remember sitting on the porch enjoying the cool breeze anticipating the thunderstorm that was predicted to roll through our area in West Texas.

Uncontrollable Joy

As I gazed at the night sky, I realized how happy I was with life at that moment. I smiled, and then I giggled out loud. It caught me off guard, and then I started laughing. Now, anyone who knows me well, knows that once I start laughing I simply can’t stop. So, I sat there on the porch by myself laughing and laughing and laughing. I am sure at least ten to fifteen minutes went by, and just when I thought I could keep it together…it would start all over! It was at that moment that I realized it was not just uncontrollable laughter, but uncontrollable joy ignited by the Holy Spirit! The joy and love for God that I experienced in that moment was exhilarating, and truly a gift.

Once more will he fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with rejoicing. (Job 8:21)

pexels-photo

Share the Joy

Many times, the life of a Catholic is portrayed as strict and boring, with so many rules and restrictions. The challenge falls on each one of us to live our lives with joy, treasure the blessings, serve others with a kind heart, and welcome the Holy Spirit into our everyday lives. These are just a few ways that others can encounter God through us.

So, how can we live a life full of joy? Jesus gave the disciples the recipe for joy.

Jesus said to his disciples:
“As the Father loves me, so I also love you.
Remain in my love.
If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love,
just as I have kept my Father’s commandments
and remain in his love.
I have told you this so that my joy might be in you
and your joy might be complete.
This is my commandment: love one another as I love you.” John 15:9-12

What an intense commandment Jesus gave us; to love others as He loves! It is up to us to open our hearts enough to welcome the Holy Spirit, so we may be filled with joy and love one another unconditionally. I have seen some people who are going through very difficult times in their life, and still are able to be grateful and full of joy. It is possible! Have confidence in God and trust in His plan for you. The life of a Catholic should be joyous because Our Lord Jesus Christ has given us His peace, His joy, and His love!

Joyous on the Journey

She is clothed with strength and dignity, and laughs at the days to come. (Proverbs 31:25)  The strength and dignity that we have been given does not allow for us to be anxious about the future. We do not always know where God will take us, but we do know the Holy Spirit is always with us. I encourage you right now to say a prayer asking the Holy Spirit to guide you on your journey.

Each year through the annual Catholic Women’s Conference, we help women appreciate the dignity they have been given and grow deeper in their relationship with God. Visit CWCSanAntonio.com to learn more about the opportunities available for you at the Catholic Women’s Conference.

What do you think?

