Finding True Joy!

Standard

How many of us want to experience joy on a daily basis? Wherever you are.. at a demanding workplace, at home with various chores, raising children, or where you are right now. The dictionary defines joy as an intense happiness. We usually don’t ask people “Do you have joy?” – we would rather ask, “Are you happy?”

woman-hand-desk-office

The search

And when you think about it, joy isn’t experienced in just a moment. It’s a state of being. Many people answer the question by stating concerns or problems they have, rather than thinking about what makes them happy.

I can remember a time in my life when I was searching for true happiness, for consolation in a situation I was going through, specifically, dealing with an incurable illness that caused constant physical pain. My search was like a ‘bull-dozer’…because of my pain and lack of joy, I was insensitive to others.

Then, I met a group of Catholics that took time to pray with me and explain the importance of encountering Christ. This effort, in time, brought peace to my search for true happiness, which I realized was to encounter Christ Jesus and recognize that I needed a Savior. When we encounter Christ Jesus and accept Him into our lives as our Lord and Savior, we experience joy and hope!

Encounter and accept

To encounter is to meet and experience; while to accept is to acknowledge and to believe. Yes, I did “meet” Christ through prayer, through His people who took time to pray with me and I experienced His peace and His healing. Months later, I discovered through a medical exam that my incurable illness was completely healed! Accepting Christ and His teaching was, for myself, the next step that has led me on a journey that has been incredibly amazing, thanks to God and His mercy!

Can I say that I experience joy on a daily basis? When I read this definition of true joy given to us by a Jesuit theologian, Fr. Pierre de Chardin: “True joy is the infallible sign of the presence of God.” I can answer yes!

It’s a daily choice!

Each day, I act upon my faith in God through prayer and by loving God and embracing His gift to us – the Catholic Church which offers a treasure of tradition, history, teaching, guidance tools, and so much more to help us reach eternal life!

This leads us to Hope!

“The virtue of hope responds to the desire for happiness God has placed in the heart of every person…it keeps man from discouragement; it sustains him during time of abandonment; it opens up his heart in expectation of eternal beatitude.”  (Catechism of the Catholic Church #1818)

A Christian’s definition of hope is far superior to that of the world. Instead of wishing or hoping for something to happen, as Christians, we know our hope is solid, concrete evidence because it is grounded in the Word of God, the Truth.

“Our Christian hope is “the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen”  (Heb 11:1). It is a hope that, like faith, cannot be moved by circumstances because of our encounter of Christ and of our desire to love Him and worship Him, the One True God who knows and loves us.

When we feel hopeless

Sometimes, we fall into a “rut” or make excuses. It is because we prefer to do what comes natural. It is so easy to gravitate to what might seem to be logical, or “feels right”. Don’t waste time – run to Christ! He is always there with open arms to receive you. And remain with Him!

The Christian faith is a full and sincere adherence to Jesus Christ, and the decision to walk in His footsteps is to make oneself a disciple of Him. Once brought to this decision, people have a desire for more – to be taught the fullness of divine revelation and to enter into the full sacramental experience of the Church.

Come and see

St. Edith Stein, who was once an unbeliever, encountered Christ and became a Catholic and later a Carmelite nun said – “If anyone comes to me, I want to lead them to Him.” Yes, I too, want to lead others to Him so they can experience true joy and happiness!

Have you found joy and want to lead others to God also? Are you still searching for joy? The Pilgrim Center of Hope Ministry of Conferences and Pilgrimages have many opportunities to discover and share the treasures of the Church. Learn more at PilgrimCenterofHope.org

What do you think?

